Full- and part-time degree-seeking students, both undergraduate and graduate, are eligible to enroll in the Greater Cincinnati Consortium cross-registration program. The Consortium provides educational access for students to take courses not available at their own college. Developmental courses taken through the Consortium that are similar in content to those offered at Mount St. Joseph University will be accepted as general electives; however, those courses that are not applied toward a degree at a host institution will not be accepted.

Degree-seeking Mount students may enroll in a maximum of two courses or six semester hours in consortium courses each academic year. Enrollment in Consortium courses occurs concurrently with enrollment at the Mount. Graduate students cannot earn more than 25 percent of the credits required for a graduate degree in courses taken either through the Consortium or in transfer from another institution.

Extenuating circumstances may require an exception to the Consortium cross-registration policy. Appeals for exceptions are submitted in writing to the Provost. The University’s approved Study Abroad programs are exempt from Consortium policies.

Mount students are charged Mount tuition when registering through the Consortium. Credit hours earned by courses taken through the Consortium are treated as Mount residency hours. Consortium grades are calculated in the student’s Mount grade point average.

Cross-registration procedures are as follows:

  1. Begin with the Consortium contact person in Mount St. Joseph University’s Registrar’s Office to secure course and Consortium procedure information.
  2. Obtain a signature of approval on a Mount registration or add form from an academic advisor.
  3. Complete the cross-registration form in Mount St. Joseph University’s Registrar’s Office. The Mount’s Consortium representative’s signature on the Consortium form is required. The student may wish to call the host school’s registration office to determine the availability of space.
  4. Take the cross-registration form to the registration office of the institution where the course will be taken (host school). Specific times and dates are scheduled for this purpose and are available for student reference in the Registrar’s Office.
  5. If a change in enrollment status (add/drop) is made, the add/drop procedure must be completed at both schools.

The following schools are members of the Consortium: Art Academy of Cincinnati, The Athenaeum, Chatfield College, Cincinnati Christian University, Cincinnati State Technical and Community College, Gateway Community and Technical College, God's Bible School and College; Good Samaritan College of Nursing and Health Science, Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion, Miami University, Mount St. Joseph University, Northern Kentucky University, Thomas More College, Union Institute and University, University of Cincinnati, Wilmington College, and Xavier University.