Program Requirements

Hours: 44-45

The Teaching major with a Concentration in Adolescent to Young Adult Education is offered to students who hold a bachelor’s degree and are interested in teaching in grades 7-12.  All candidates for AYA licensure must have a subject area concentration for the subject to be taught. This is usually equivalent to an undergraduate degree with a major in the subject area to be taught. The Mount offers licensure programs in the following subject content areas: Biology, Chemistry, Integrated Language Arts, Integrated Mathematics, Integrated Science, and Integrated Social Studies.  Students are eligible for an adolescent to young adult resident educator license in their respective subject area when they successfully complete the program.

Required content courses are undergraduate level and may be taken as part of the candidate's baccalaureate degree or may be taken concurrently while participating in the graduate level licensure program.


EDU 500Statistics and Research (3)

EDU 501Educational Psychology (3)

EDU 604Integrative Research Project (3)


AYA 533Adol/Young Adult Practicum (2-3)

AYA 550Nature and Needs of Adolescents (3)

AYA 670AYA Curriculum Methods: Teaching to Standards (3)

EDU 502Measurement & Evaluation (3)

EDU 504Behav Mgmt/Classroom Org (3)

EDU 517Technology in the Instructional Process (3)

EDU 644Graduate Student Teaching (6)

RDG 511Content Area Reading (3)

SED 515Human Exceptionalities Across the Lifespan (3)

SED 630Teaching in an Inclusive Setting (3)

Select the methods course that corresponds to your content area:

EDU 553Methods of Teaching Mathematics (3)

EDU 556Methods of Teaching Language Arts (3)

EDU 558Methods of Teaching Social Studies (3)

EDU 559Methods of Teaching Sciences (3)

Program Outcomes

  • Content knowledge - The candidate articulates accurate subject matter and applies that knowledge in planning and presenting lessons aligned with content standards.
  • Learner characteristics - The candidate incorporates knowledge of how students learn and how diverse experiences affect learning when planning and presenting lessons aligned with content standards.
  • Instructional strategies - The candidate applies a variety of scientifically-based, data-driven instructional strategies based on learning goals, assesses student's progress toward these goals, and differentiates instruction based on student needs and assessment results.
  • Learning environment - The candidate creates and manages a learning environment that encourages active, engaged learning and respect for others.
  • Professional responsibilities - The candidate engages in reflective practice, promotes collaboration among peers, families and communities, and takes on opportunities for professional development